MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
01/14/2012 11:21 PM

Intro and Question

AustinLisa
AustinLisaPosts: 110

Hi! My buddy on the Lupus forum told me about this group...I had no idea it existed, and she suggested I post my question here. Before I do that...a little about me. I have Lupus and am in my 30's (I was diagnosed at 16). I have severe complications from it including organ involvement. I work full-time, and I've been with my current employer for 4 1/2 years. I work in the field of education, and I created and developed the program I work in. It has become very successful, and I now supervise 14 other professionals. Work and success at work has always been very important to me and it's been my life. However, I've gone downhill with my Lupus the last 2 years, and I'm not doing very well with finding a way to "push through" with work. I'm finding that it's taking me 2-3 days to recover from every 2 days of work. It's extremely upsetting and frustrating for me. I've alwsys been very honest and open about my health with work...it's hard to hide when I'm sometimes carting around oxygen, heart monitors, etc. They've always been supportive, but I have a new boss right now that seems to be more focused on black and white policies instead of the bigger picture. Her response about a couple of things has been "how do you think it makes others feel if we let you do that". So, I've been reading about the Americans with Disabilities Act, and I definitely think I qualify.