MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
01/24/2012 09:12 PM

my story

kayyy

Hi everyone. I've been battling depression for about 6 months now and some days I feel good and some days are horrible. I moved to NYC a few weeks after high school graduation to study performing arts and I met my ex boyfriend only a week before my graduation. Going away and being on my own with no experience was hard enough without having to deal with a relationship that I really really wanted. I ended up leaving the school and coming home to be with him because I couldn't focus only for him to break up with me a few weeks later. I tried to deal with a lot of feelings I've never had before and I failed. I made a suicide attempt because I wanted nothing more than to be put out of my misery. After telling my mom about this I was put into a psychiatric institute for a week and I got a lot better. Ever since then though I've been up and down. Recently I've started to become anorexic. There are so many reasons for this and my reasoning changes almost everyday. Some days it's about him and about being skinnier than any of his ex girlfriends. We are both dancers so all of his ex's were very skinny...skinner than me. But, there's no chance we'll ever get back to together because guess what he's gay. And don't get my wrong I support him no matter what he is who he is and I'm proud of him, but that doesn't take the sadness away. When I feel very depressed and hopeless I like being anorexic for two reasons. One is that it's a way to control my emptiness. I'm constantly feeling empty but I can't control that, this way I am physically empty and it takes my mind off of anything else. The second reason is that I want to get to skinny and awful looking that my physical appearance shows what I feel like on the inside. I also cut a lot. I'm not sure why this helps but it does. My parents believe I'm fine right now so I'm going back to NYC to school in a couple of weeks which is what I want. And