MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/18/2011 05:11 PM

weekly discussions

capecodgirl

Hi All,

I am new to this support group and since we are so few in numbers I am wondering if we can try and go online at a certain time, and day each week. I will try and check this website every Monday eve EST. Hope to catch a few people on line.

05/18/2011 05:16 AM
capecodgirl

Hi All, I have been trying to reach out to many of you and I think I am having some trouble with some of my messages going through so I am sending a general post as many of our issues, concerns and fears about this disease are a common thread.

Prednisone gives us so many side effects and effect our self esteem(wt.gain, cushing face, irritability, sleeplessness) that we go off it. It gives me all that and more, but it is my friend because it really does stop the inflammation and make me feel better. Once that happens the dose is lowered to more tolerable levels. I also now take methotrexate so the Prednisone can be lowered still.

I am very fortunate to have found the Vasculitis Center at Johns Hopkins. There are only several institutions in the country that I believe have enough expertise in this area to most optimally deal with this disease. So please do yourself a favor and go to one of these Centers. I have found my overall health and treatment to be improved since going to JH.

I am so glad to see so much activity on this site and all of us reaching out for answers and support.

capecodgirl

05/19/2011 07:52 AM
mom2cutie
mom2cutiePosts: 24

Yes, I am so glad the site is coming to life. This disease is so rare and we all have such different stories that it will benefit all of us greatly to be able to communicate about our experiences. I hope to talk to more of you all.

Keep Positive Smile

mom2cutie

05/20/2011 10:47 AM
capecodgirl

Hi again,

Hoping people can go online on Mon. pm for a chat. I am in the EST in the US. Anyone have a time that works for them? capecodgirl