MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
02/17/2012 12:26 PM

APPROVED!!!!

pickliah
pickliah  

I am approved for SSI and my backpay is coming this next week! I'm SO excited! FINALLY!!! I found out yesterday.. on my birthday!! Laughing I was approved for SSDI also but it is in some kind of payment process so i am told so i won't hear anything about that for up to 60 days.. bummer.. BUT I'm just excited their is finally a light at the end of the tunnel!

05/04/2012 05:45 AM
MBPRLY
MBPRLYPosts: 254
I'm an Advocate

I'm new to all this, but my state disability is about to run out and my doctor isn't releasing me. Aside from my mixed BP, ADHD, a number of other symptoms and all the issues with my back, I'm trying to figure out what my next step is?

So if I may, what is the difference between SSI and SSDI? Did you have to go through a lawyer to assist you in getting this all approved or where you just lucky?

05/04/2012 03:09 PM
fibroforever
fibroforever  
VIP Member

Here's what SSD and SSI are:

SSI~ Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is a Federal income supplement program funded by general tax revenues (not Social Security taxes):

* It is designed to help aged, blind, and disabled people, who have little or no income; and

* It provides cash to meet basic needs for food, clothing, and shelter.

SSD: Social Security Disability- This program is financed with Social Security taxes paid by workers, employers, and self-employed persons.

•The worker will get Medicare coverage automatically after receiving disability benefits for two years.

•To be eligible for a Social Security benefit, the worker must earn sufficient credits based on taxable work to be "insured" for Social Security purposes.

•Disability benefits are payable to:

◦blind or disabled workers

◦their children

◦widow(er)s

◦adults disabled since childhood

•The amount of the monthly disability benefit is based on the Social Security earnings record of the insured worker.