MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
06/28/2009 07:51 PM

Hi Everyone new to this group

jenn36
jenn36  

My name is jenn. I have been smoking for many many years. This past February I had head/brain surgery. I asked my doc for the patch figuring that it would be a good time to quit. Well after 2 weeks and a ton of migraines I went back to smoking. Even my doc hesitantly agreed because of all that I was dealing with, the stress of quitting might of been to much.

I waited another month, tried the patch again (highest dose). I was still getting migraines. We couldn't tell if the migraines were from the surgery or from the patch so I stopped them again. I must admit it probably was a part of me not wanting to. So now 4 months after surgery I am trying again....

So with the patch I have been smoke free for 35 hours. I feel pretty bad, sitting and counting the hours. My husband is an ex-smaoker and completely understands and is supportive. He quit about 15 years ago. I have a mental list of why I am doing this, and repeat them in my head when cravings get tough.

1)Myself my health

2)my husband and children

3) and finally I will take the money I would have spent on cigs and put it aside for a vacation for my family next summer.

I just pray I can succeed with this.

Thanks for listening,

Jenn

06/28/2009 08:04 PM
ComingUndone
ComingUndone  

Good for you Jenn. Have you considered trying other things like gum, lozenges, inhalers, etc?

06/28/2009 08:27 PM
jenn36
jenn36  

I tried cigarest(I don't know if we can mention brands) the pills. They intensified my cravings severely. But I definatley will look into the items you mentioned. I haven't gotten any migraines ( knock on wood) with the patch, so I want to find something to use in conjunction with it.

Thanks,

Jenn

06/28/2009 08:40 PM
jenn36
jenn36