MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
03/18/2011 10:26 AM

My Intro (I'm new and nervous)

melissastl

Hi, my name is Melissa and I'm 27. I'm new to this whole website and really glad that I found it. I haven't found a lot of groups in my area for what I need really and I think I prefer the online forums anyhow. Anyway, I am bipolar w/anxiety disorder...as well as ptsd...and sexual abuse history. I see a psychiatrist who is absolutely amazing...and just started to re-visit a therapist as things have started to go downhill lately.

Right after I graduated high school...I went to a small gathering. I decided to leave bc there was marijuana and alcohol being used, at 18, I wasn't comfortable with it. I went around to the front of the house to my car...and one of the 17-year old stoned and drunk boys pushed me into my car...from behind and raped me. The worst part was that I was a virgin and that he admited he raped me afterwards and said he was sorry.

The whole thing really messed me up. I didn't go away to college. It's 10 years later...I'm still trying to finish college. I have yet to have a healthy relationship. I've had periods of promiscuity bc of this...not valuing my body. Abused alcohol and marijuana at times. I'm diagnosed bipolar, which kind of adds to things.

Right now, I do live alone...but my parents pretty much support me. I do pay for my phone, groceries, and gas, and personal needs. But, pretty embarassing for being 27. In college. I was working for almost a year but quit bc the retail job I was at got pretty bad but have an interview lined up...I started to slide recently...my doc has adjusted meds...seeing the therapist now.

So, that is my story...hoping to get to know you all.

Melissa

03/18/2011 01:44 PM
maryandjimmie
maryandjimmie  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate