MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
02/01/2012 08:19 AM

How much should I tell......

Torres15
Torres15  
VIP Member

I got a new therapist. I've only seen her once. And I'm really confused and won't get to see her for almost two weeks to ask. One of the first things she says is that if I am a danger to myself or others and that if I have ever abused anyone she will report me.

There was a time when my boss told me I was. That's a lie. And she obviously changed her mind or something since I wouldn't be working there if it were abuse.

But isn't SI being a danger to yourself? So if I go to therapy for SI, I am going to be reported for the reason I go? And I don't want to tell her what my boss said (I've been working there for several months since she said that so I know she now thinks I am not abusing anyone) because then the therapist will report me. Getting out of that job won't happen for a while because I need an income. I do plan on quitting, but can't yet.

Anyway, the basic question, is how do I tell the therapist everything and not her her decide to report me? There have been other people (a few) who know I SI and haven't reported me. One was my former therapist,so I know they don't have to, yet I am afraid she will. My new therapist said she will report me if I had abused anyone, but since my boss has the same requirements and hasn't, then does that mean my new therapist won't? What should I do?

02/02/2012 02:59 AM
peasha
peasha  
VIP Member