MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
02/15/2009 12:09 PM

Sharing experiences..

doctorh

Hi there. New to RP and the forum. I was recently diagnosed in October of 08. After trying to fine tune my vision with glasses unsuccessfully for about 3 years, I found myself in the optometrist's office 3 times for adjustments in 2 months before we realized that my vision was suddenly deteriorating that fast! They sent me for visual field rests and referred me to an ophthamologist (already had one as I have had uveitis in both eyes for 6 or 7 years). He told me my visual field had diminished horribly in the last year and sent me for ERG and angiogram among other tests. Everything came back fine except for ERG which showed "severely impaired responses to light and darkness in both retinas". I had already been struggling with night driving, glare, tripping, etc. for a few years but kept being told "everyone goes through that". Now I have a bit less than 10 degrees visual field left and poor central vision but I still get around fairly well in good light and watch tv, read and use the computer with strain but it's ok. I have lost my job, driver's license and acquired my first white cane. I have found this part the most difficult as I do have usable sight left. The idea is that with the cane I will be able to look up and walk as opposed to watching the ground every minute. I just kind of feel like I'm faking it to use a cane when I can see. I will have to get over myself I suppose and get on with the program at hand. Doing LOTS of walking. I am waiting for a decision from disability insurance and hope to be retrained in something. I'm off to read everyone else's experience and see what I can learn.Smile

02/15/2009 01:43 PM
Lazy1
Lazy1  

Welcome to the group. I have been putting off getting a cane, myself. But, I'm getting tired of tripping over things. It's very embarassing in public. I hope that you find support here.

02/15/2009 05:27 PM
Cecelia