MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
05/07/2012 10:55 AM

Struggling with my/my partners feelings

monkey321

Hi everyone. This is my first time to post on this forum, though I have been reading through other discussions since my own sexual abuse.

I don't know if I am comfortable going into detail of what happened yet. I was abused by somebody who both my boyfriend and I thought of as a very good friend. It has been a struggle for both of us to deal with the fact that someone we trusted could do something like this.

Emotionally, I have been a roller coaster since the whole incident. Sometimes I feel that I am coping okay, sometimes I am so angry I will sit awake all night thinking violently, and sometimes I'll find myself paralyzed by a flashback and then in tears.

My relationship with my boyfriend has been suffering too. He knows and understands what has happened to me, but has no idea how to support me and the emotional roller coaster that I have been on. Because he doesn't know what to do or say he has been putting a wall of distance between us to avoid dealing with the situation all together.

This is really a time when I need his support more than ever. I expressed this to him and his response was "I know. But I have no idea how. Just tell me how and I will do it." That was when I realized that I had no idea what to tell him.

I am really struggling with closing this gap between us, between my feelings and his feelings. I feel like I am all alone with my feelings, while he is ignoring the situation, and I have no idea how to utilize him as a supportive friend. Rebuild the connection?

Has anyone else had any experiences with this? Thank you so much for reading.

05/07/2012 06:49 PM
hiall
hiall  
VIP Member