MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
11/12/2010 04:09 PM

Prostate Cancer Advise

trucker
trucker  

Hi I'm a newbie need a bit of advise don't get to talk to many people no wife or family I'm a trucker on the road most of the time no real home a real loner.

I'm 62 yrs old diagnosed in Feb 2010 PSA 9 Gleason 7 had prostatectomy in April this yr 3 mth PSA 0.03 6 mth PSA 0.03 what i would like to know as i don't talk much to Doc is with them numbers how do the members think I'm going.The other thing is i never had a bone scan as Doc said with the numbers i have the PSA would be higher if spread what do you guys think.trucker

11/12/2010 04:13 PM
srciaran
srciaran  

Hi Trucker, welcome to the forum. I'm not a doctor, but I know that doctors like to see .1 or lower when it comes to post-op PSA. That said, your PSA level is not rising, so that's a good sign. Unfortunately, I think it's a wait-and-see situation. If you go for a year with no change in PSA, it's probably a good thing.

11/12/2010 04:29 PM
trucker
trucker  

If i understand you .1 and I'm 0.03 at 6mth I'm way below that.Am i right also no incontinence at all can get erection but nothing to boast about is this normal i don't take any meds.

11/12/2010 04:39 PM
srciaran
srciaran  

No incontinence and any kind of erection at 6 months is good! Others here will tell you that it took a lot longer than that for them. Here's some information on post-op PSA levels: http://tinyurl.com/2epyfwh

11/12/2010 06:27 PM
tony04
tony04  

Look at it this way....Your original PSA 9 is like 9.00 dollars and you current one is like 3 pennies...You're a poor man now when it comes to PSA, which in this case is very very good.