MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
11/07/2008 07:03 AM

Hi, I'm new here too

xMandiex

It took me long enough, but I finally sucked it up and went to a therapist. She's diagnosed me with PTSD and social anxiety.

I've never been in a war or anything like that, so I can't help feeling horribly guilty for having PTSD. My sexual assaults were small in nature - not considered a full rape, but apparently still in the realm of sexual assault - so I just sort of feel like I don't deserve to have PTSD.

I'm trying to get over that conception, here's hoping.

11/07/2008 07:29 AM
countrymouse
countrymouse  
VIP Member

Hi xMandiex, I don't think that you should feel guilty for having PTSD. it is nothing that you can have control over. I'm no expert, but any sexual assault is still an assault, and you indicate that there were multiple incidences. We are here to help. Welcome

11/07/2008 07:56 AM
ThisBlows
ThisBlowsPosts: 1467

Theres nothing to feel guilty about, PTSD isnt just a military problem, and CM is right... an assult is an assult.

That being said, welcome to the group!

11/07/2008 10:38 AM
trent
trentPosts: 15

NO ONE deserves to have PTSD, its not like some kind of medal that we have won. sexual assult, rape, war, deaths, what ever it is that caused it we were all been a part of something horrable! Its the way our minds handle things that bother us. I hope that you get the help that you are looking for on this sight!

11/07/2008 11:28 AM
xMandiex

I guess I just feel like I'm being all whiny, I mean I wasn't in anything truly horrible so I feel like I am just ... agh, I can't even put it into words.

I feel like I'm just being a whiner, when I should just suck it up. I'm glad to have found this website, I'll definitely be looking around all the other posts too.

Thanks for the welcome.

11/07/2008 12:18 PM
ThisBlows