MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
08/13/2011 10:39 AM

Personal Introduction

PrideofBdos
PrideofBdos  

Hi everyone!

I go by the tag PrideofB'dos which is short for Pride of Barbados. As you may guess, I am a native of Barbados, where I am a Science teacher at a secondary school.

I also have been diagnosed with schizophrenia and have been successfully treated for 16 years. I have been able to maintain my career through out my years of treatment,a fact of which I am proud.

Over the years I had gained a significant amount of weight; 260lbs at my heaviest. I have lost about 45lbs; but I have come to realise that to maintain a healthy lifestyle relies largely on how you view yourself and life in general.

I admit that myself confidence has risen considerably since I have lost some weight, but I know I will never be a size 2 and I want to apprieciate myself for whom I am regardless.

I have spent a lot of time over the years being negative and not apprieciating life. I had let the mundane cloud my thinking and ate my frustrations.

I want to be content with who I am regardless of what situation I find myself.

Thanks for welcoming me into the group.

Wink

08/13/2011 10:57 AM
vikingfan
vikingfan  
VIP Member

Hello and Welcome.

We are all here for a variety of reasons and I applaud you for joining in. I also think that you are an inspiration to have worked right through some very large problems.

Glad to have you here.

Sue

08/13/2011 01:56 PM
RickEJ
RickEJ  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate

Welcome to the group PrideofBdos,

I was diagnosed with Bi-PolarII, GAD, & treatment resistant depression 7 years ago.

I too gained a lot of weight, I was 250lbs.

I've lost about 25-30. Have been treated pretty good with meds and mostly stable for a while. This group has been a blessing to me, I hope you get a lot out of it. Laughing

Rick

08/14/2011 07:51 AM
happycampc