MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
08/10/2011 07:57 PM

Recovery time after surgery?

Rhub
Rhub  

I just found out yesterday, that they are going to remove my prolactinoma in a few weeks. The surgeon told me I would only be in the hospital for a day or two. However Im wondering how long it take to actually recover. The first thing my boss asked was how long will you be off work, and I didn't know the answer. I left a message for my doctor, but I haven't heard back yet. For some reason work didn't come to mind when I was meeting with him.

Can anyone help me? How long did it take you to recover, and return to work. I'm a teacher so I'm on my feet all day.

08/11/2011 06:07 AM
Aworriedwife

My husband had surgery 3 weeks ago today. He had a functioning tumor causing a disease caused acromegaly. It looks like they got the entire tumor and his levels seem to have returned to normal. We have to wait awhile to know for sure.

For the 1st 2 weeks he was definately in a fog. Just not himself, not "sharp" and tired easily. This week I feel like I can see him gradually returning to "normal" each day. He's feeling antsy now about sitting around so much, which is a good sign.

Our surgeons said 6 weeks off work. He works a physical job, so we are definately waiting the entire time. If he worked a desk job I would probably be ok with him going back early. If you're in charge of kids, you will probably want to wait 4-6 weeks. Everyone is different and every surgeon is different. I know some release patients after 4 weeks.

If you have any questions about the surgery or recovery, please feel free to ask. And remember, with a functioning tumor, you also have hormone issues to adjust to. He was lucky and everything is normal, you may have to take replacements, which will alter your recovery.

Best of luck!

08/11/2011 07:23 AM
JordynsGigi
JordynsGigi  

Hi Rebecca,