MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
09/01/2010 07:11 AM

Hello - I'm a newbie

chosenspot

Hi All,

I am a recovering alcoholic and substance abuser. This past summer i went to a psychologist and got an evaluation done (I didn't realize it was that in depth) Anyway, I was diagnosed with Dependent Personality Disorder. When I looked it up online, it explained alot of my behavior(s) during my life - anxiety, depression, fear, etc.

Recently I started a new job (fits into the pattern -along with the anxiety and fear the new job brings) and i dont have health insurance yet. I thought it would be a good idea to speak with people who deal with the same things i deal with - hence, here I am Smile

Any kind of advice or suggestions that people could share would be greatly appreciated

Thanks and God bless

09/01/2010 01:35 PM
turtlegirl
turtlegirl  

Hi chosenspot,

First of all welcome! And then congratulations!

I am not a recovering addict or alcoholic, but my husband is an ex alcoholic. So, I do understand the struggles, somewhat. But there are others here whom I'm sure can relate fully with you.

I too suffer from anxiety and depression. Probably depression is my worse. When I was younger I had a hard time stepping outside the norm, starting something or somewhere new, being introduced to new people, and so on, my self esteem as always been low. I still consider myself shy, I feel like now in my life though I have overcome these things a great deal.

Maybe someone will be along soon who can help with advice and suggestions.

TG

09/02/2010 09:53 AM
chosenspot

Thanks turtlegirl.

09/02/2010 02:27 PM
mem8850