MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/05/2012 08:55 PM

My 12 year old son wishes for death

somemom

My son just turned 12 and is constantly upset about why he has to be alive on this planet. He worries over everything in the universe. He has daily cycles of highs to lows- but throughout when he stops and thinks about it he feels that life is not worth living and that he is torturing himself, his sister and me. He chooses to do or not do work at school- never putting in much effort because he thinks that it is ultimately pointless. Has anybody who's been through this suffering seen their child make it to a happier place?

04/05/2012 09:27 PM
angora
angora  

Sorry, I have no experience quite like this as my daughter is 28 (bp since age 13). I would definately not ignore this and would bring it to the attention of your sons doctor. Is he in therapy? I wish all the best.

04/06/2012 05:19 AM
lillipets
Group Leader

My son has had these feelings since he was about 8 yrs old, and he is now 20. He still struggles with suicidal thoughts. Some days are better than others. But it is so heartbreaking to see your child suffer like this.

Is your son seeing a therapist and psychiatrist?

04/06/2012 09:19 AM
ange2009
ange2009  
VIP Member

so sad that a young person would question his being on this earth.I feel for you.

Therapy is definitly important and necessary,meds also,but sometimes it seems ..that no one cant fix this..

there was a few young men[3] 15years old about who commited suicide near my town ,by throwing themselves under a coming train..one of them was the son of the school administrator.what is there to do?

one thing is to accept,treat and recognize mental illness,and to respect it like we do with cancer.

all my love and hugs to you.

Jackie.

04/06/2012 12:00 PM
lillipets
Group Leader