MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
03/07/2012 10:18 AM

Anyone with info on Abilify?

apetereit

I'm new to being a parent of a bipolar child. I was told last year by a therapist that he strongly suspected my daughter was bipolar, but I was unwilling to listen at the time. However, her behaviors have escalated consistently since then, and now, a second therapist has finally confirmed my fears. So we met with someone yesterday who started her on Abilify. I'm nervous about starting her on any meds, let alone an antipsychotic. I'm only trying this because behavior modifications that I've tried haven't worked, and I'm concerned that if she continues in a manic state, she'll end up hurt or hurting someone. Anyway, if anyone has any experience with Abilify whether good or bad, but especially scary things to watch out for, I'd love to hear them. Again, I'm new to this and this is the first med we've tried, so I just want to make sure I don't miss anything! Thanks in advance!

03/07/2012 10:21 AM
apetereit

I should note that I'm not new to being a parent of a bipolar child...just new to the label of "bipolar" child.

03/07/2012 01:35 PM
Marlynn
Marlynn