MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
01/30/2012 03:48 PM

Struggled for months to get son tested!

rocketorange

Hello all,

I am new to this support group. My almost 6 year son was hospitalized on a 51/50 after we struggled with our Medical insurance for months that parenting classes and a appt for him every 4-6 weeks was helping. I found a an outside therapist we pay privately for our son to see once a week. We were at a appointment when she said he needs to be hospitalized. He had almost poked his brothers eye out 2 days before and I have received several fat lips, bloody noses and a black eye. It was the hardest thing for me to do and watch as my son was taken from the ER to a clinic. He is in kindergarden and had been suspended several times. Luckily a friend of our is a child advocate and our therapist had suggested us to as for an IEP (individual education plan). Which I asked for before he was hospitalized. Since that I have learned a great deal regarding what the School/District does not offer and hope parents don't know their child/children's rights to a education. As he was about to be thrown out of his school.

My son now has a aide for school but does not attend the whole day. He spends more time in the office with his aide than in the class room. Which I have ask for another IEP meeting to have him attend the whole day of kindergarden. My son does not have play dates very often. He says he has no friends and everyone hates him. As a mother that breaks my heart. With him finally getting on medication for bipolar it has helped with his violent out burst but they still occur.