MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
11/19/2008 06:39 PM

Hi, I'm new....

greystreet
greystreet  

Hi, as the title suggests, I'm new...

I'm a grad student in my early 20s in South Carolina. I just started grad school this past August and have been suffering from panic attacks ever since. For a while this fall, it seemed to be better, but now it seems worse than ever. I'm talking to a counselor and I have an appointment to see about medication soon. I didn't want to take that route, but I have been practicing yoga and deep breathing and other relaxation techniques, as well as drinking tea with kava kava, and nothing seems to be very effective. I still feel good after yoga, but it doesn't reduce the symptoms. I'm at the point now where I panic every time I go to a class.

I had mild anxiety issues during my undergraduate years, mostly from stage fright as I was a piano performance major and there was a lot of pressure in my music school. I was on Paxil then and hated it... I wonder if it somehow messed with my mental processes!

I suspect that part of my problem is loneliness. It's tough being in a new city! And I'm constantly wondering if I'm really good enough to be in such a good M.A. program. I feel like the whole panic thing is just so silly, and I'm a "grown-up" now and I should be able to handle things, but be that as it may, I panic!! I've come to accept that this is a part of me for the time being, but I am hoping to meet some friends who feel like I do and can relate to this stuff.

Anyhow, nice to meet you all Smile

11/19/2008 07:10 PM
Chanda
Chanda  
VIP Member

It sounds like u were trying some really good things to help relax you, Ive had panic disorder for about 19 yrs now and I still dont understand it and I feel like it is silly too, like why do I even get it, when I know it wont harm me!

Some of those big stressors probably helped contribute to it getting worse, cuz our fight/ flight response.