MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/12/2010 02:43 AM

Sometimes I feel like I'm putting on a happy face

Jenny88

Hi everybody, I'm new here. I've never done this before so bear with me. My name is Jenny and I'm 21 years old. I have a history of anxiety attacks but recently what has been happening is so much worse than an anxiety attack. It all started after I made an idiotic mistake in the summer. I was peer pressured into doing something I KNEW I shouldn't have done and it resulted in me having the most intense panic attack of my life. It was my first one ever and I ended up going to the emergency room because I was SURE I was going to die. That happened in the beginning of July. I didn't have another panic attack until August 26th. It was so weird, I was having dinner with a couple of my girlfriends when all of a sudden this huge wave of panic rushed over my body. I instantly felt hot and nauseous and went to the bathroom to see if I needed to throw up. My heart was racing, my mind was racing and I couldn't breathe. I ended up going to the ER that night because I was absolutely terrified.

Lately my panic attacks have been coming more frequently, especially at night. I HATE the night time. I can't be alone, I NEED someone to sleep with me, just so I know I have a person there. I feel so stupid and "crazy" because I hate talking about panic attacks because I always feel judged with them. It's gotten to the point where I can't sleep anywhere but my own house, I feel like I'm 5 years old again and can't sleep anywhere but my own house. Like right now it's almost 3am and I can't sleep. I'm constantly afraid I'm going to pass out and never wake up again. I don't want to go on any medications until I HAVE to, I just want to be able to talk to someone about this. My mom didn't realize how hard of a time I've been having until the ER visit in August and just recently I finally told her the truth about what happened in July.