MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
07/20/2012 07:04 AM

Anyone else have O.N. due to Cervical Spondylosis?

SpondyLowSis
SpondyLowSis  

Hi Everyone. Sideways I have O.N. due to progressive deterioration of my neck vertebrae and the resulting bone spurs (uncovertebral joint osteophytes) pressing on the occipital nerve root. The migraine and cluster headaches from pain radiating forward into the cranial and facial nerves are debilitating, and my skeletal neck pain is continuous now. The C.S. began as a result of a traumatic childhood injury with head and neck trauma. I'm sure there must be others of you with this cause?

I am a recent student with a degree in Psychology, focused in neuroscience, and I recently completed a second bachelor's degree that is professional writing-related. My neuroscience studies give me some understanding of what's going on, but I'm just out of university and trying to find a job now, and have no medical insurance, just as symptoms have been worsening, so it's very frustrating. My avenues for treatment are very limited. My diagnosis of Cervical Spondylosis and Occipital Neuralgia were made when I still was still under insurance as a student single mom. I have been able to find some affordable chiropractic care at a community clinic with volunteer doctors, which helps manage my skeletal pain somewhat. A referral had been made to a neurologist by my GP, but by the time the appointment came up, I no longer had medical coverage, so I did not keep the appointment. I simply can't afford it.