MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/10/2011 11:23 PM

My 8 yr old daughter pulls her eyelashes out

MirandaSherry
MirandaSherry  

Hello,

I am new to this discussion. My husband and I have recently been informed by our 8 yr old daughter's neurologist that she has ocd, trich and tourette syndrome. What brought on all her tests, is that we starting noticing that her eyelashes we so scarce over the past year or so. She is also hoarding items from the recycle bin and is a perfectionist (which takes her a very long time to do anything). We are struggling with understanding why she would feel the need to pull her eyelashes out or pick excessively at her fingers and toes.

Our hearts go out to her and anyone who deals with this struggle. Is there any advice anyone can offer that can help us teach our daughter not to let this take her over and improve her confidence? We don't know any kids in our community that have this and she feels really alone and confused.

I'll do anything to help her through this journey...

Thanks in advance for advice or help with understanding this condition... It seems alot for an 8 yr old to go through.

04/11/2011 05:50 AM
at100

Hello MirandaSherry, and welcome to the group.

I can identify with the powerlessness you must be feeling with regards to your daughter. My name is Arie, and my wife has been suffering from a sever post partum ocd for the past couple of years, and as much as try to support her, I often feel powerless to truly help her through this.

Here are a couple of things I learned over the past couple of years of my wife's condition... I hope you find this information helpful in some way.