MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
09/12/2007 02:56 PM

Elavil

JLynn
JLynnPosts: 6

Hi there, Im new to the group, I had no idea this group even existed and I cannot believe that there are actually other people out there going through the daily headaches and trying to live a good life like me! Its very frustrating and all your stories make me want to cry and I wish the best to all of you!

My question is, has anyone tried Elavil before? I was prescribed Topamax but was scared because of the possibility of seizures and the stories Ive heard so far about the drug. Now my dr wants me to try Elavil and Im wondering if anyone else has and if its helped at all? I use Zomig more than I should and I wish it was approved for daily use. Thanks in advance!

09/12/2007 04:34 PM
kymark
kymarkPosts: 106

I've been using Elavil for 11 years, and it's been the most consistently helpful med I've found. It's no cure, but when I've tried stopping it, my pain levels shoot up. I use it along with Topamax and Lyrica. I've tried lots of med combinations, but always Elavil.

The reason it helps me, I think, is that it helps regulate my sleep patterns. One of the best predictors of head pain for me is poor sleep -- a bad night of sleep pretty much guarantees a bad pain day. Elavil, which I only take in the evening, puts me out and if I forget to take it, I don't sleep well at all. I'm not too crazy about being so dependent on a medication for sleep, but I dislike the pain without it even more.

I'm on a pretty low dose now (25 mg/night), but at higher doses it can cause some pretty significant weight gain, as can many anti-depressants. I put on over 40 pounds when I first went on it and didn't lose the weight until I went on Topamax. Then I went off Topamax and tried Lyrica, which ran my weight back up. I'm hoping going back on Topamax will bring the weight back down. I'm a bit tired of this yoyo weight stuff!