MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
06/26/2008 12:56 PM

Searching for help

nicole20
nicole20  

I am new to this, but I have been having headaches everyday for 5 months now. My doctor is telling me it's migraines, but it is every single day. I ran across NDPH just today. I have been taking Topamax for my epilepsy and migraines, but yesterday I added Cymbalta. When I searched these two drugs together this came up. Now I am wondering if this is closer to what is going on with me. This is miserable! Anyway, I'm in hopes maybe someone out there has some input? I have been to 3 neurologists. (depakote,lamictal,topamax) I have done IV infusions, demoral shots everything nothing works!!! I am going crazy!! I am only 28 yrs old and I am so run down and tired. Wishing I could figure this out!!

06/26/2008 01:53 PM
jrz30
jrz30  

To help find out if you have NDPH you need to meet some criteria:

1.Headache for more than 3 months.

2.Headache is daily and unremitting from onset or from less than 3 days from onset

3.At least two of the following pain characteristics:

a.bilateral location

b.pressing/tightening (non-pulsating) quality

c.mild or moderate intensity

d.not aggravated by routine physical activity such as walking or climbing stairs

4.Both of the following:

a.no more than one of photophobia, phonophobia or mild nausea

b.neither moderate or severe nausea nor vomiting

5.Not attributed to another disorder

It would be great to hear your whole story!

Talk soon,

Jonathan

06/26/2008 03:01 PM
MaryR
MaryR  
Group Leader