MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
11/09/2010 02:25 PM

Am I narcoleptic?

iCalypso
iCalypsoPosts: 1

About me- I work full time as a secretary, most of my work is comprised of sitting at a desk, or running around from different employees offices, making copies, etc. I go to the gym twice a week and work out with a personal trainer. I sleep roughly from midnight to 7:30am on weekdays...and 12 or so hours on friday and saturday night. I typically eat well and stay hydrated. I do not smoke and have recently quit drinking.

My symptoms-

Extreme fatigue, no matter how much sleep I get the night before.

Falling asleep at work, while driving, sitting at stop lights in my car.

I typically sleep very lightly at night, and toss and turn quite a bit. When I take a nap after work however, I sleep VERY heavily and do not move at all. I also have very vivid nightmares and wake up with my heart pounding(this never happens in the morning after sleeping, only after naps)I feel like I weigh 300lbs after waking up from a nap with my heart pounding and until my heart stops beating so erraticly I cant move. Its a very terrifying feeling.

I have fallen asleep while having people talk to me. I have even fallen asleep while my boyfriend was kissing me(no joke, and no its not for the reasons you would expect)

I really want to go to the doctor to find out what is causing this...it is becoming a serious problem...I am scared to drive for fear of falling asleep.

No matter how much caffeine I have, I still feel exhausted.

PLEASE help me. If anybody can shed light on this it would be very muchly appreciated!!

Post edited by: iCalypso, at: 11/09/2010 02:37 PM

11/09/2010 06:30 PM
smd
smdPosts: 292

Post edited by: smd, at: 04/07/2013 01:52 PM

11/10/2010 01:55 AM
SomewhereInCalifornia
SomewhereInCalifornia  
I'm an Advocate