MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
01/11/2011 11:32 PM

New to all this... and terrified

MissiMRSA

Diagnosed with MRSA in Nov of last year and have had 3 outbreaks so far. I worked in a hospital 7 yrs ago and am sure this is where the bacteria started for me, but am doing a bit more medical research of my records to trace its start (not that it matters- the hospital will deny all of it). I just want to know if this is CA or HA... is there a strain identification I can ask my current doc for instead of this history search? It makes me very anxious to deal with all that.

I hurt, I am depressed, I also came down with pneumonia while going from lesion 1 to number 3, so I am terrified of the MRSA bacteria getting into my lungs and running rampant...

My joints have ached for years...

Ive been depressed since the dawn of time it seems (but in reality I was first put on antidepressants about the same time as I think I got this bug)

My doc put me on steroids for the pneumonia, bactrim ds for the infection, tessalon for my cough and diflucan every other day to prevent the "extra bonuses" that antibiotic treatments give me. She also said to wash every 7 days with Hibiclens soap- my entire body. 7 days is apparently the magic number for days of gestation so you can kill as much of the bacteria as possible. She just told me this recently, so yesterday was my first wash with the soap. It smells funny.

As for treating the lesions, I have been using a drawing salve applied to a large adhesive bandage that seals on all sides (in case of leakage) and changing this several times daily. The Hibiclens does little to no good fr current infections short of keeping the skin surrounding it less contaminated.

I have also seen suggestions online about changing to a diabetic like diet, cutting out refined sugars and reducing the complex carbs I eat to reduce the amount of yeast in my body- sounds like a right good plan to me!