MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
03/10/2010 12:50 PM

reverse cervical lordosis

BrandiJo

Hey guys, i have a question. i was at the hospital this past weekend with a SEVER migraine. they did a CT of my neck and it says i have reverse cervical lordosis. i am waiting for my doctor to call me back to explain what that means. but when i searched online it says that it can cause migraines. has anyone heard of this? does anyone have this? please let me know... i am currious to see if this is the cause of all my pain for all these years!Blink

05/18/2010 03:02 PM
manda24

I think I can shed a little light on reverse cervical lordosis: I am a massage therapist and I work for a wonderful chiropractor. I have also had migraines since the 6th grade. Something my doctor does for every single chiropractic client is to take xrays and then describe how their spine is different from "optimal", or the healthiest possible degree of curve. Cervical means your neck vertebrae, lordosis is the natural curve of your neck towards the front of your body. This curve is what holds up our heads with the best support and neutral muscle positions of front and back neck muscles. So, I'm guessing that you and I are similar in that our neck vertebrae curve backwards, or the wrong way.

As a massage therapist, I can attest that tightness in the front of your neck can pull the vertebrae around like that. For myself, regular adjustments and monthly massage therapy have started to put the curve back in my neck and I no longer feel the need to yank my neck around when I have a migraine. The migraines are less severe but still happen when I'm stressed or accidentally introduce lots of triggers. But it's a huge step forward for me and put a reason I can understand on at least part of my pain. Hope this helps you too and have a great day!

05/19/2010 06:59 AM
BrandiJo