MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
09/27/2010 10:16 AM

reforming pot head

lemongirl65

i am a RN. someone who i considered a very close friend reported me to my previous employer as a drug user. long story short? i am now under contract with the board of nursing's rehab committee. under my contract i must (for 5 years) abstain from all drugs and alcohol, continue treatment with an substance abuse center and have monthly drug and alcohol urine screens (just to name a few). i have been a nurse for 15 years. i have an exemplary nursing practice history. my drug of choice was marijuana. i have been smoking the herb for 30 years (daily user/abuser for the last 10 years). been "clean" for 1 month. struggling with the boredom and the complete lifestyle changes.

09/27/2010 03:37 PM
anamore
anamore  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate

Slowly and I mean slowly you will adjust to life w/o pot, I started smoking pot when I was 14 and I always had pot on me. I smoked and then started doing other drugs, but pot was always a constant. I got addicted really bad to coke and hit bottom, so I quit all drugs, Many years later my daughter's friends brought pot to the house and I smoked again, it just made me paranoid, I couldn't handle it.It was such a big part of my life, in my teens, I was smoking all the day. Pot was alot cheaper in those days, $30 to $50 depending on the strength of the pot. Then down the corner a guy would be standing there all night selling dime bags, It was everywhere and so easy to buy.

I still miss it and feel like smoking again, but I know I won't, drugs destroyed my life.

So the longer you stay clean the easier it will be, its hard when you quit, you have to change your life style, get new friends,

But since you are being tested at work, then you definitely can't smoke, it is being forced on you and sometimes that is harder to quit then if it was of your own desire to quit.