MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/19/2012 09:49 AM

pos ELISA and neg WB... and doubt

mysticthecat
mysticthecat  
Group Leader

My teenage son has pos ELISA IgM and neg WB (all bands neg) using Labcorp. And labcorp only looked at the bands that are part of the CDC criteria.

Diagnostically he fits LD, big time. He has been bit and lots of exposure. I suspect he's had it for 12 years.

While we are waiting for our first LLMD appt, all the "other docs" are beating me down with the "growing pains" and "arthritis" and "adrenal fatigue" and "allergy" and "sleep disorder" ideas.

They are making me doubt myself. I'm not dealing with the doubt very well. I'm a scientist and I like things proven.

While we are waiting to see the LLMD, I've tried to research the pos ELISA and neg WB scenario, and I can't find answers.

Are there alot of false positive ELISA tests?? Have any of you been in this situation?

I was thinking of just getting his blood drawn and sent to IGENEX while we wait for the LLMD appt. But he's on antibiotics. Would they interfere with the testing?

I wish I had more patience. I think I need to meditate or something... to much anxiety.

Thanks!

04/19/2012 02:36 PM
lymeinmich

I have not heard of false + on the Elisa.

It is hard to get a + on the Elisa.

I know a woman who did, and that probably saved her life. She was very ill and in the hospital.

I was given abx to induce a die off, before doing the Igenex urine testing.

Not sure how it would effect the blood testing, someone will chime in.

You could call Igenex, and ask. They are on California time. They answered my questions by phone.

04/19/2012 04:15 PM
lmedler
lmedler  

I had a positive ELISA and negative WB. Only had band 23 IGM positive from Quest labs I think.