MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
02/02/2012 02:03 PM

Extreme fatigue

glittermedic
glittermedic  

Hello everyone, hope youre all having a good day. Bear with me, I know I have been posting a lot of questions on here, but I'm new at this =)

I was diagnosed with Lyme and started on Doxy 6 days ago. I have noticed some intermittent symptom improvement (yesterday was completely pain-free!)

Yesterday and today, I have been extremely fatigued. I slept 12 hours each night, and I still felt like I could curl up and sleep for 12 more!

I also was very hungry the past 2 days.. when lately, I have had no appetite at all

Is this my body fighting the infection?

Thanks in advance

02/02/2012 02:06 PM
sebnova81
sebnova81  

Get used to it! I was very up and down, especially at the beginning. I am a little over 2 months into doxy and a month into other meds and I feel like I don't go up and down so much like that anymore.

It's totally normal to be starving all day one day and the next have no appetite. Also, I could have slept 12 hrs a night EASY.

Oh, the life of lyme...

02/02/2012 02:10 PM
glittermedic
glittermedic  

Ugh, it's taking some getting used to...

I see your blood work results are the same as mine... positive for westerb blot, igm 23 and 41...

How are you tested for babesia and bartonella? Is it just a blood draw? I have an appointment in 2 weeks and I want to be tested for co-infection

02/02/2012 02:31 PM
sebnova81
sebnova81  

My LLMD did a TON of bloodwork and I came back positive for babesia. I was nervous to start another new med, but so far it hasn't been too bad!

02/02/2012 02:53 PM
purpleyogamat
purpleyogamat  
Group Leader

There are tests for Co-infections.

However, most are unreliable, so the diagnosis is often clinical.

Extreme fatigue - debilitating full body fatigue is a "red flag" for Babesia.

However, since you just started doxy 6 days ago - this could be a herx.