MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
07/23/2011 06:23 PM

How do I get Tested for Lyme Disease?

KangarooGal

I need specific info about Lyme testing. I am 95% certain the symptoms are indicating Lyme (Chronic). I have previously been dx'd with many things, but still my health is worsening. Currently I am experiencing: Peripheral Neuropathy, Migraines, Back Pain, all over Joint Pain, Chronic Fatigue, and many other symptoms.

Please tell me step by step the fastest, and most affordable way to get accurate results. The local health department won't even test (in FL). My Neurologist has "fired" me. My PCP is testing for Rheumatoid Arthritis (came back negative) and is probably not too well educated with Lyme.

To further compound things, I do not have insurance...although I qualify for a type of Medicaid. Will Medicaid cover these types tests? Will Medicaid cover treatment?

Since I am a beginner at all of this, please use simple language. I am well-educated, but all of this new lingo is overwhelming.

Thank you and God Bless!

07/23/2011 06:49 PM
rowergirl2010

I'm an Advocate

Your symptoms do sound like Lyme. Unfortunately many of us pay out of pocket for treatment and then attempt reimbursement later with our various insurance providers.

Medicaid may or may not cover Lyme. Not sure on that end. Most Lyme doctors do not bill regular iinsurance and certainly don't work with Medicaid and Medicare because of how these entities limit treatment methods and time spent with the patient.

Some people have gone as far as selling furniture, cars, and other items to have the money for treatment. I used up majority of my savings in order to pay for treatment so far (six months).

07/23/2011 07:14 PM
jomomma

If Florida Medicade is the same as Pa it will cover your regular lab to do the blood test. It will also cover the medication IF you have that coverage also.