MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/11/2011 03:10 PM

Newbie here....Question

nightnurse

Hi Everyone......

Got a question here......

These are my symtoms....

I am a 34 yr old nurse.....healthy, and active....

9 months ago, I started having tingling in my toes...It slowly started progressing to both feet, and up my legs, to my knees....Then my legs started getting very weak.....They have gotten so weak now, that I cannot even work....My balence is way off, and I am very unsteady, holding onto things wherever I go....I have a lot of involuntary twitching.....muscle twitching....ringing in my ears

I have been worked up by neuro...2 spinal taps, MRI's,2 EMG's and lab tests...All my tests for lyme have all come back negative, including in the spinal fluid...They originally thought I might have MS or something along that line.....

Does any of this sound familiar to anyone? My legs basically feel like jelly, and I cannot walk for a long period of time.... They have tried me on Neurontin and Lyrica, both doing nothing for me.....

I am frustrated and need some help!

I live in the Boston area

04/11/2011 03:37 PM
TaraT
TaraT  
VIP Member

Hi there night nurse! We have heard close versions of your story over and over and over again.

Thinking that lyme has been ruled out simply because of negative tests causes many people to chase their tails and get sicker in the meantime.

Steroids usually are given to treat MS so if they tell you that you must have MS because nothing else is showing up then say NO to steroids until you have been tested for lyme BY A LYME LITERATE LAB.

All other labs are called junk labs. There are only a few labs that have a good rate catching positive patients when others have found negative results.

Igenex is one of the best in my opinion. THis is the lab that most people get their lyme tests through when they have been educated a bit on lyme disease.