MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
11/10/2008 04:53 PM

ankle swelling

nickoa
nickoaPosts: 45

I am new to lupus and was wondering if ankle swelling is a part of it? every week during a bad flare-up my ankle swell huge and they hurt.Sad

11/10/2008 04:59 PM
hshoe29
hshoe29  

At the start of my flare, my ankle swelled too. Huge swelling!!! It took 6 months for my ankles to go down. At one point I went from a size 6 to a size 8 and they hurt all the time. I was on 40-20mg of prednisone. Now that I have started Cellcept and my prednisone is down to 8mg they are back to normal. I now how bad it sucks. Make sure you talk to your doctor. It could be something else but it's probably the lupus. When my ankles hurt that bad I was taking darvocet or perocet. Good luck.

11/10/2008 07:23 PM
Jessykay
JessykayPosts: 29

I have been getting the ankle swelling as well. I usually get it in my knees too. I'm not currently on any meds (personal choice). My Rheumatologist is pushing Plaquenil on me now because I'm have early signs of kidney issues. I hate this because it goes against my holistic beliefs. I'm not sure if taking it is the right choice? Any tips, anyone?

11/11/2008 08:33 AM
Faith19
Faith19  

well, i've been taking plaquenil for two years since I was diagnosed from SLE. Before i started for twice a day but now Im only taking once a day. I heard it can cause cataract thats why I have to see my eye doctor every other 6 mos. Aside from that Im taking some tyleno #4 if I cant manage the pain of my leg. I got a hip damage and Im looking forward for physiotherapist and see if they can help me. Im also taking some multi vitamins, Vitamins C and thats all. drinking lots of water everyday so the meds will flush to your system. It helps to clean the kidney. If your doctor wants you to take some medicine..try to follow his instruction. even me..i dont wanna take any meds but we have to. Plaquenil is immuno suppressant so i beleive in this medicine.