MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/02/2012 04:44 PM

weaning off heroin, is it possible?

beinspired

Ive been using dope for about 6 months now. I started out snorted but moved to iv'ing it about 2-3 months ago. Im getting tired of always having to be working towards getting a fix. And always being dirt poor.

I've tried to quit a few times now but can never do it. It doesn't help my boyfriend and his two friends who do it as well, live here too. Since withdrawals are SO hard I was thinking about trying to wean off. Like going from doing 7 bags/day to 5, 3, 2, 1 half and than none.

So my questions are;

Has anyone ever been able to do this before is it possible?

If so at what intervals did you dose and what amt?

how did you get your mind off dope in between doses.

How long did it take to totally get off how many bags?

And what are some tips or advice????

Thanks so much for any help, I kinda feel alone here because everyone does it..

04/09/2012 01:37 PM
LGPNY
LGPNY  

I've never heard of anyone doing this successfully yet. My fiance is a recovering addict and he says that if you can get through the first 3 days without it, you can do it. But, then again he ended up going to the suboxone clinic. If you have the ability to lessen your dosage, then try it. Use just enough to get by, but remember there is no way to dodge the agony of withdrawal. You just do it or you don't. My fiance stayed in bed the entire first few days of recovery. If that's what it takes then so be it. I heard someone at an AA meeting the other day talking about drugs saying that he would make himself stay home because he knew if he left he couldn't do it. Best wishes to you, seriously. You aren't alone. If you have insurance, look into a clinic or detox center. & try to get your boyfriends support in your recovery. If it's around it will just prolong your recovery and make it that much harder.

04/10/2012 01:15 AM
Pen125
Pen125Posts: 177

Hi,