MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
01/06/2012 03:15 PM

Surgery

chammond74
chammond74  

I am a newbie here and I just found out my surgery date 13 February, 2012. I am nervous but I guess that is to be expected considering this is a life changing surgery. I would appreciate some advice here from someone out there who has already had the surgery and maybe tell me what to expect afterwards.

I am also excited because I know that this is my first step to a new life.WinkI

Post edited by: chammond74, at: 01/06/2012 03:26 PM

01/06/2012 08:29 PM
lineka

I had bypass on 12/9/11. The best advice I can give you is after surgery you need to get out of bed and walk, walk and walk. It is the only way to get rid of the gas pain. I asked my Dr if he had dropped me off the table because I hurt all over. He said it was just the gas. You will get tired easily for a couple weeks. Take it slow and easy. You will do fine. Take the pain meds and drink as much as you can. I still have trouble getting all the fluid in. Sugar Free popsicles are great too

01/07/2012 09:58 AM
mem3351

Good advice there from Lineka, also, take some peppermint tea in with you, as that will help drive the gas out and will ease the pain massively. The hospitals never have it in, so take your own, once you're on unlimited liquids, then ask the nurse to make you some, it's a godsend.

Walking around helps too, but you might be on a drip for a couple of days, so it's not always easy to do that, so the tea will help, honestly.

Read the posts on the forum and the articles, as there is some good advice and tips there for you on getting prepared. The surgery will be fine, don't worry, it'e the months after surgery where the hard work, frustrations and all start to kick in.