MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
11/07/2008 01:34 PM

Taking Both Cymbalta and Tramadol?

VintageVera
VintageVeraPosts: 6

HELLO: This is my first time on your site and I'm looking for help from anyone with experience taking BOTH Cymbalta and Tramadol. My previous doctor refused to allow me to take tramadol as I'm on cymbalta. Since then, I've heard that many people's experience is that don't contraindicate (sp?). Please reply with your input as I need help with the pain and doctors won't prescribe me traditional pain pills. MANY THANKS, VINTAGE VERA

11/07/2008 01:58 PM
Cori

I was on them at different times. Tramadol did not work for me, but Cymbalta helps my moods.

11/07/2008 02:24 PM
hcronch
hcronch  

Tramadol did nothing for me as far as pain.

11/14/2008 12:08 PM
amommy02
amommy02  

I didn't take tramadol with Cymbalta but I have been taking it with Prozac for over a year. When you combine tramadol with an SSRI there is a slight risk for developing serotonin syndrome. It's a rare but potentially fatal condition caused by elevated serotonin levels. I also took tramadol with Paxil with no problems. Just discuss your concerns with your doctor or pharmacist.

Oh, forgot to mention the tramadol doesn't work as well for me with Paxil, or by itself. But taking it with the Prozac, they both work better.

11/14/2008 07:25 PM
VintageVera
VintageVeraPosts: 6

[size=4][/size] THANKS for the reply. I jusut started on samples my dr. (reluctantly) gave me. After one week no side effects yet. Also as you are taking it O.K., I'm going to expect that it's fine. MORE LOVE, VINTAGE VERA p.s. My dr's reluctance seemed to be more than he didn't think it would help any but so far I seem to be a little less ache-y.

11/02/2009 10:41 PM
Zandria
Zandria