MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
08/09/2009 10:49 PM

Hi! Just wanted to introduce myself and ask a ?

raeang18

I am 27 years old I've been seeking a diagnosis for my constant muscle pain for nearly 8 years. One doctor after another would dismis my problems as just being overweight or not exercising enough. I was finally diagnosed a few months ago. Treatment has just started, but I am still working, though I don't know for how much longer I can continue. My question is since I am still working, is disability through your employer different from getting it from the state? Is it easier or the same? I know I get short term and long term disability through my insurance at work, but I don't know how it all works.

Any advice would be appreciated and I'm glad I found this wonderful group!

08/09/2009 11:43 PM
aTinaL
aTinaLPosts: 11832
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate

raeang18, welcome to the Wonderful World of Mighty Fibromites! It's very nice to meet you Smile

I'm glad you're finally starting treatment! You poor thing- 8 years is a long time to go with all that pain and not knowing why or having anything done for it.

You're right, short term disability and disability through your employer are very different from long term SSD. That's through the government and it's covered by money you have already paid into Social Security.

There are people around here with a lot more knowledge and experience on these matters than what I have. I'm sure they'll be along soon.

I can tell you a couple of things, though. For SSD, get a lawyer before you even begin the process. Many people here have used Allsup and with great success. Also they charge only a flat fee as opposed to a percentage, which if you get a big retro check, can take a huge chunk of it.

However, if you have FMLA, or any kind of short term disability available through your work, you might want to go ahead and do that.