MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/21/2010 10:59 AM

hi, i'm new to group and fibro

pam888jenk
pam888jenk  

i am 28 years old and i was diagnosed with fibromyalgia by my rheumatologist about 2 months ago after seeing her for a year and taking every test in the book to come up with a reason for the pain in my left arm, wrist and hand. she finally started pushing on those "trigger points" and i almost jumped out of my chair. now i am taking lyrica and cymbalta. she also gave me some tramadol (ultram) after my pain persisted. she sent me to a chiropractor for microfascial release therapy but that just put me in even more pain. has anyone tried that?

also, it seems like the pain comes and goes like spells. does stress or something trigger an attack? i'm currently in the middle of one such attack. my pain also seems to move around but it mainly in my shoulder/neck area, my right arm and my lower back. it almost feels like a deep ache sometimes and burning pain other times. some days i can't wear my jewelry because i can't stand anything touching me. it's very odd.

the problem that i'm having is that no one seems to believe me when i tell them i have fibromyalgia. they all kind of scoff and say something like "yeah, everyone does". most of the time i keep my pain to myself for this reason because it makes me feel like i'm imagining it or making it worse than it is in my head. i'm sure you all have felt the same way.

anyway, that was a long into but i haven't really had anyone to talk to about it. i'm glad i found this group. thanks and nice to meet you all!

04/21/2010 11:20 AM
naddya819
naddya819  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate