MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/13/2009 12:43 PM

HELP...I'm Getting Married

mslodie
mslodie  

Ok...so the best thing in the world has finally happened to me....at the ripe young age of 38, I am taking the long walk! God has finally allowed me to cross paths with the man he has had intended for me to spend this life with and we will be exchanging vows on May 16th, 2009. I am soooo excited but I'm a little scared and nervous about the reality of the day. Not about getting married...I've never been more certain of anything in my life as that. But rather just about the logistics of the day...I have to stand in front of 150 - 200 people for nearly 40 minutes then try to dance, which is one of my greatest joys in the world that was lost to me through fibro's nasty fatigue, while saving a little something yet still for my wedding night!!!! (And I've been saving everything for my wedding night now for 8 years so I have no idea what to expect from the big bad fibro monster now, if you know what I mean!) God grant me energy and a pain free day! Please pray for me! Anyone have any great no need for xanex, don't worry, everything will be fine advice???? LOL

04/13/2009 12:52 PM
aTinaL
aTinaLPosts: 11832
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate

mslodie! Congratulations! I'm so happy for you Smile That is just wonderful news.

I think it's time to try and start thinking about compromises and preparations so that you can do every thing you want to on your special day.

The first thing that comes to mind is, do you really have to stand for the whole ceremony? What would be wrong with you and your groom sitting before the minister in a couple of nice, comfy chairs? If they were on a platform, everyone is going to still be able to see you.

The big deal is seeing you walk down the aisle, and you can do that and show off your dress. I'm sure everyone would understand. Just make it part of the ceremony.