MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
05/24/2012 01:28 PM

Deep shoulder muscle pain :-( help?

jmt1127
jmt1127  

Hi all,

I'm new to this online support site....I woke up a week ago with severe pain in my left shoulder blade...I went to my rheumatologist and he gave me a trigger point injection of 40 mg of Cortisone....now I sit here in SERIOUS agony with deep muscle pain in my shoulders and pain in my neck and other joints (my sternum especially). Nothing really helps much....I have had low grade fever as well....I've tried muscle relaxers, anti-inflammatories, heating pads (helps for a little while) and ice packs (numbs somewhat)...I've even tried Vicodin which barely took the edge off....any suggestions? I'm going a bit batty with the pain ...trying to stay distracted and calm.

Also, I'm on Lyrica (75 mg 2x a day) and Cymbalta (60 mg at night). What do all of you do to manage your pain??

Thanks!

Jill Smile

05/24/2012 01:40 PM
MoiraWolf
MoiraWolf  

I have a similar shoulder pain at times. My rhomboid muscle (it pulls the shoulderblade back to the spine after you reach forward or upwards) goes into DEEP spasms occassionally. The only thing that really helps me a lot with it, other than muscle relaxers and trigger point injections (which sounds like you've had) is to get one of those massagers, the kind that beat back and forth really fast and have the rounded knobs, after it. Most Fibromites can't stand a massager like that, but I'm not really touch sensitive like many are. If you had a T.E.N.S. device, that would work, but you didn't mention it, so I assume you don't have one.