MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
02/21/2012 10:36 PM

Help with Fibro symptoms

megaboo

Hi

I am fairly new to the fibromyalgia diagnosis. Sometimes I get these really intense side aches when I am in a flare up. I basically just have to sit or lie down until they pass. I have had my gall bladder removed because it wasn't working properly. I was just wondering if anyone else experienced sharp side pain or if this was just me.

Thanks for any help

02/21/2012 10:48 PM
FibroCFS
FibroCFS  

Welcome,

Yes I get sharp, stabbing, piercing, twisting, burning, etc. in all parts of my body.

Since you mentioned gall bladder are you referring to your rib cage being in pain? We do tend to get inflamed rib cages. It is called Costochondritis and the cartilage is actually inflamed. I went through an extremely bad bout of it about a week ago.

thumbnail

02/22/2012 01:23 AM
Bananers

I have also gotten the pain you described. One time it happened after we had just started our 15 hour drive to IL. Hubby almost turned around and took me to the hospital it was so bad.

02/22/2012 06:40 AM
hatbox121
hatbox121  
Group Leader

Muscle spasms are common too. That may be some of it.

02/22/2012 07:40 AM
girlfriend
girlfriend  
VIP Member

I get them also and not just limited to torso... sharp shooting pains everywhere.... dont know hwat to tell you for relief.. muscle relaxr helps if its a spasm but otherwise I just ride them out. even the pain meds dont work for these

02/22/2012 08:43 AM
mabri
mabri  
VIP Member

Megaboo,

welcome to the group! We are so glad you joined us, and i believe you will learn a lot here, as well as get support from the wonderful members here! Feel free to jump in anytime.