MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
07/02/2008 07:50 PM

fighting fatigue

hurtallover
hurtallover  

I am looking for suggestions on fighting fatigue--that oh so awful feeling that we all share. I am at my worst in the mid-late afternoon,often continuing through the rest of the day, can't keep my eyes open. I am a teacher, and I know most people think, "oh well you have 3 months off in the summer". Not true these days, I teach Summer School, and attend meetings and conferences throughout the summer months. I am fighting constantly in the afternoons to stay awake. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

On a different note I wanted to add how grateful I am for all of the information, advice, and most of all friendship that I have found in this wonderful group. You are all such a blessing--have a great Thursday!

07/02/2008 08:26 PM
fibroforever
fibroforever  
VIP Member

Fatigue... Youza! That's a tough one!

I know that lots of doctors say that a multi-vitamin is good. Then there's magnesium. And I think there are a few other natural things to help with fatigue. Also, to make sure that you go to bed and get up at the same times. Don't drink caffeine, etc. -- I, myself, have tried those things. They seem to help a 'little'. I'm not like falling over anymore. Sideways But, I'm still tired, pretty much all the time. Which is strange... cause I'm SO tired, but yet can't sleep!

You asked a tough question! And to be a teacher?! I hope someone on here has some good advice for ya. Cause I don't have much. You've got quite a challenge ahead of ya.

07/03/2008 07:08 AM
mcbeth
mcbeth  

Wow that is a tough question. So many days I fight the fatigue and falling asleep aat my desk. There are days that I'm afraid to go to the bathroom because I'm afraid I will fall asleep on the toilet.

I take a multi-vit and extra magnesium. I'm not sure if it works or not, who knows I may fall asleep stanging if I weren't taking them.