MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/16/2012 09:50 PM

Boundaries

mountainluv

Boundaries: When to Say Yes, How to Say No to Take Control of Your Life

Dr Henry Cloud and Dr John Townsend.

http://www.amazon.com/Boundaries-When-Take-Control-Your/dp/ 0310247454

Excellent book, I wish I would have read this years ago. A friend's sister and I were talking about my situation. She got up and brought me this book. I opened the book to a random page, and it was like it was my life in print.

I'm not very good at summarizing, so look at the summary on Amazon. It is a Christian based book, does quote some scripture. It isn't telling you how to lead a Christian life. There is mention about passages in the Bible that infer that it's important to set boundaries.

The book talks about setting boundaries in relationships, at work, with your kids, with friends and with yourself. It's things like when your husband starts to yell at you and you tell him that if he continues to yell, you are going to spend the night somewhere else, and following through with it. This will not work with all relationships, but makes me wonder, when he first started acting like a jerk even before we got married if I should have said something instead of just taking it. He would say something about me in front of people. I would just smile even though it was hurtful or embarrassing. Instead, I should have said "I find that hurtful and if you continue to embarrass me in front of others, I will not join you when you go out". I should have started in the beginning when the outbursts were not as bad.