MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
06/28/2010 09:54 PM

Opana death

Blecan

Opana the latest opiate pain med that's been out for 2 years has a great number of deaths as a result of abuse,my friends daughter just 22 years old overdosed and died last week from it.Here is another account,honestly, i dont get opana, or any other opiate pain reliever prescribed. however i do use them recreationally.. and in my opinion opana is the greatest.. i have been using it for about 2 yrs now.. and it works better then oxycodone any day.

This was a random young person thinking it's just fun and games!

06/28/2010 10:26 PM
Blecan

Opana – a powerful painkiller that went on the market less than two years ago – is twice as strong as OxyContin, with a potential for addiction that rivals the prescription drug that has ravaged the lives of thousands of abusers.

Little is yet known about the potential for Opana abuse, because of its relatively short shelf life in the pharmaceutical marketplace. Significantly more potent than morphine, itself a powerful painkiller with potentially fatal side effects if abused, its existence has created a possible new menace for those who use pain medications for recreational purposes. Those numbers have grown significantly in recent years, as the addictive properties of prescription drugs like OxyContin and Vicodin have become better known.

In that time, reports of abuse have grown widespread for OxyContin, introduced in 1995 and once known as “hillbilly heroin.” In its first six years of existence, news reports put revenues from OxyContin at nearly $3 billion for its manufacturer, Purdue Pharma.

The effects of Opana are closer to those of morphine than of OxyContin, doctors say. Whereas OxyContin has a more stimulating effect, Opana can cause a user to fall asleep. Like morphine, Opana's greatest danger to abusers is the possibility of “respiratory depression,” or reduced lung functioning.