MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
01/28/2012 11:37 PM

Intro--I have D2 and Need to Learn More

Talahi
Talahi  

'The Boomer 3'---high bp, cholesterol, diabetes2

How you ask?--Stress and sitting around. I am 63===dumb, dumb, dumb.

Walking now and eating better. Sugar--sugar--sugar---yes, I have eaten too much sugar.

By nature I am a 'worrier'---pure Type A. It runs in the family--like the diabetes, arthritis and high blood pressure. Left to my own devices--I would long ago have moved to a coastal area and happily lived a different life.

One of my favorite quotes--Robert Louis Stevenson>>>

'Tis better to have a taste for collecting seashells than to be a millionaire.'

Of course--to live at 'The Beach'--you must find a way to 'pay for it'--and it is helpful to become a millionaire. lol.

Read my Diary--fascinating. 'The Saga of the Waving Girl'. I was a teacher---now on Disability. 'What doesn't kill you makes you stronger'---my JOB nearly did 'kill' me. Fortunate that one of my students didn't think of that. Instead, they just lied and I had the choice to resign or face certificate revocation. It still 'bothers' me----stressful experience that I didn't 'Need'.

~~~~~

Rx's--->

Metformin--1000mg/2x daily

Glipizide--1x daily

also

High BP---Lisinopril, Clonidine and another one Alpha??--have to look it up

20 mg Paroxetine/Paxil

Simvastin--cholesterol

I 'sort of understand'--how/what to eat. Not good on checking blood sugar. Have to get 'On That'.

It is good to discuss the finer points. I attended an excellent Diabetes Education class and am ready to do better. Laughing

01/31/2012 02:54 AM
Pixie1960
Pixie1960  
Group Leader
I'm an Advocate

Hello Talahi,

I'm glad you attended the Diabetes class. If you still unsure about what to/not to eat see a dietitian. They'll help you on how to read food labels, help you learn what foods (how much/how little) etc.