MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
06/02/2011 08:09 AM

this is my story

katiesworld

Hi,

I just joined this group and I thought I would take some time to introduce myself and talk a little bit about who i am.

I've been chronically depressed for almost 5 years. and mildly depressed for a lot longer. i've attempted suicide more times than i can count and have been hospitalized at least 10 times for my depression. i first started feeling depressed when i was 14 years old. i was overwhelmed with school, dealing with physical abuse at home and feeling shitty in general. I hated my life and i couldn't find happiness in anything. that's when i started cutting. i loved the relief it gave me. finally i had an outlet for all my overwhelming feelings. i've been cutting now for just over 5 years. after i started cutting suicidal thoughts started to form. i became more and more obsessed with killing myself every day. i just wanted the pain to end. i had no emotional support at home and no one i could talk to about what was happening to me. i felt completely alone. about i year later i made my first serious suicide atttempt. i overdosed on my anti-depressants. i was rushed to hospital and spent the next 4 weeks in the psych ward undergoing a thorough assessment. they didn't know what was wrong. over the years i have been diagnosed with more things than i can count. the main diagnoses wavering between bipolar II and major depressive disorder. since that first suicide attempt i have attempted suicide many times with no success. the pain just didn't go away and honestly i am not sure it ever will. i have spent countless hours with therapists, psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, councellors, and every other type of mental health professional out there. nothing has cured me. i wonder why depression can't just heal in six weeks like a broken arm. wouldn't that be great? alas, that is not possible and i continue to suffer. nowadays though i suffer in a more