MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
05/01/2012 05:20 AM

Advice needed

niknak56

I only last week faced up to the fact I need help and I'm due to have my first counselling session on Thursday.

It all came to ahead last Wednesday when I got extremely drunk, said some stuff to my estranged husband about self harm. I've never self harmed in my life previously but that night I made some superficial scratch marks on my arm which are now almost gone.

The following day I realised I had to change. I had been on my own at the time my little boy was at his dads.

I have had an up and down week since and missed one day at work but then went back in to do my job.

Unfortunately one of my colleagues saw the scratches and went to my boss. I should say I am a police officer so weakness is not really accepted.

I did a night shift last night and got ambushed at 4am by two sgts saying they knew everything that had happened last week. I was forced to show them my arms, I was told I had jeopardised my career and custody of my little boy and accused of having an alcohol problem.

I would never put my little boy in danger, I do drink but not everyday and not to the point I'm drunk. I hardly ever go out as I'm on my own juggling shifts with a little boy.

I was forced to talk about issues from 10 years ago when i was raped and had to have an abortion,

The sgts agreed to keep it between the three of us but I will be closely monitored.

The rumours are now flying around work. I know the majority will think I'm a silly girl as that's the attitude of police officers about this kind of thing.

My colleagues don't know about my past they now just see me as a joke.