MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
01/10/2012 01:32 PM

Cyclothymia, relationship problems? Seek help?

sun2rain

Hi,

I'm not diagnosed, but I've thought for a long time that I'm not quite normal. About 15 times in the last 4ish years I've crashed, wondered what the might be wrong with me, and proceeded to spend hours upon hours on the internet researching to try and figure it out. I settled on Bipolar II for awhile, but since about 1 year ago I'm thinking Cyclothymia is more accurate.

I'm very creatively driven, as a drummer I join way too many bands, commit to way too many projects, then proceed work myself to exhaustion in attempt to keep up with them all. My mind is always obsessing about some (often several) ideas, projects, goals etc, and I find myself unable to switch it off when I need to.

I seem to constantly (daily and weekly) switch between states of:

1. Enthusiasm, idea/goal obsession, hyper achievement drive.

2. Normal, flat, stable, calm, engaged, present.

3. Depression, inadequacy, anxiety, hopelessness, feeling overwhelmed with commitments, feeling detached from the world.

It can be hard distinguishing between whether the low points are because of real life stress and sleep deprivation & exhaustion (from overworking myself) or if a Cyclothmic or bipolar disorder. I tend to not think about it too deeply until it starts seriously affecting my relationship.

Relationship: I absolutely love this woman. No doubt about it. I've had plenty of relationships with women who aren't right for me, and I know that this one is different. But we still have relationship problems at least once a month, often more like once a week.