MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
01/30/2008 12:17 PM

All New

new2crohns

Hi everyone! I'm new to Crohn's. I have just been diagnosed and I'm a little scared. I had a colonoscopy and the doctor couldn't even get into the terminal ileum because of the inflammation. He put me on Asacol and Entocort. Has anyone had any luck with these? Will I have to stay on these? Anyone have advice for the newly diagnosed? I'm 30 years old (today is my birthday, actually). I'm a mom to 2 wonderful kids. I'd appreciate any advice.

01/31/2008 05:21 AM
jay1962

Welcome, I hate to say that you have some rough times ahead, but things will get easier. Have not been on neither medication to help you with that. My advice to you is enjoy those kids and do not let it beat you. Make the most of your good days. Stay on your doctors, and express to them exactly how bad you feel. They have not been there so you have to relate how rough it is. good luck and have a wonderful day.

01/31/2008 11:54 AM
lar

Happy B'day yesterday and welcome to the board. When I was first diagnosed with Crohn's I was put on Asacol and Entocort. If I remember right the Entocort was supposed to help with inflammation part of it, so hopefully you will start to get some relief. Neither medication worked for me. I hope they work for you. Pretty much you can plan on taking meds of some sort for an indefinite amount of time. With any luck your meds will start to kick in and make you feel better. If not, at least know you can come here and gripe if you need to.

01/31/2008 11:59 AM
michellef
michellefPosts: 3

i have been on both of those medications. The Asacol gave me sever migraines so it didn't last very long, but the endocort does wonders for me... i am currently on it, but the doc is trying to ween me from it. apparently it stops working if you are on it too long.