MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
05/04/2010 10:12 AM

New to this forum and COPD

mloma

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie in many ways. I was diagnosed with COPD a year ago, not knowing what 'it' was.

Since then, I have learned quite a bit more, altered my lifestyle (with more changes still to take place)and hope to keep this illness at bay and live a happy normal life.

I work for a pharmaceutical company here in Basel which has recently come out with a new drug. I might add it was my employer who helped me. My GP didn't and doesn't have a clue what COPD. Just that I have chronic bronchitis, and all he wants to do is prescribe antibiotics. Now that I know better (and more), I choose to be an active participant in my wellness.

Feel free to write, I'd love to have some input, suggestions, and just plain ol' listen.

05/04/2010 10:54 AM
vikingfan
vikingfan  
Group Leader

Hello and welcome to our group. What kind of meds are you on now? I'm just curious if they prescribe the same things there, as here. Do you see a pulmonologist? What do they say about the progression of your COPD?

I'm 59 and I still work full time and I am on O2 as needed. I get a lot of lung infections but they seem to be viral as they don't respond to antbiotics and I don't run much of a fever.

Keep posting, OK?

Sue

05/04/2010 01:59 PM
ray2135

Welcome Basel

You are welcome to the group and to our hearts.

Raoul

05/05/2010 01:07 AM
goopy
goopy  
VIP Member

hi mloma

welcome you will find friends here.hugs georgia

05/06/2010 09:55 AM
mloma

Hello Everyone, and thank you for your well wishes.

I have recently found out that I have COPD. I had an incident at work where I couldn't breath well, and went to the cCompany Doctor. It was there that I first heard about COPD. But was still ignorant about was was under this umbrella term.