MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
05/24/2010 04:37 PM

Bisexual pre-teen

ocdchild
ocdchildPosts: 89

Hello, everyone. I am a 6th grade student with a secret: I'm bi. Well, actually, sorta. I don't know how to explain it.

I have a boyfriend, and I fear that if I tell him I'm bi, he might break up with me.

Now, let me tell you about my bisexuality. I'm attracted to both male and female rockstars (usually blonds and redheads), and also blonds and redheads at school. When I see a blond or redheaded man or woman, I find myself falling in love with them, too! I'm almost 12, and I find this kind of creepy!

Any tips on coming out? I am just scared outta my mind! Blink

05/25/2010 07:32 AM
venusenvynyc
venusenvynyc  

Celebrity crushes were definitely one of the clues I had that I might not be straight. You sound like you're still figuring out who you're attracted to. That's ok; you don't have to have a complete answer right now. I know it's hard, but try to just see who you're attracted to without judging yourself for it. It's ok to like boys and girls, and it's ok to like blonds and redheads.

And that rush of attraction you're feeling? That's also normal. Most people refer to them as crushes, but they can feel a lot like love at first. You may feel less nervous about them if you consider them "falling in like." Love takes a little bit longer to develop.

As far as coming out...

If you come out to your boyfriend and he dumps you, I know it will hurt but I can absolutely promise you'll find someone better who appreciates you for the person you are. But he may surprise you by being accepting. Have you talked with him about bisexual people "in general" to see what his take on the subject is when it's not about you personally? That might be a good starting point to see how he's likely to react.